Boroughs of New York City

New York City is one of the largest and most populated cities in the world. It is dubbed as “The City That Never Sleeps” or “The Big Apple” because of its busy traffic and people. Likewise, New York City is sometimes called “Gotham City.” The city is recognized for being a world leader in business and commerce and also of the fashion industry. But unbeknownst to most people, New York is divided into five boroughs that operate as five separate countries. Each of these five boroughs offers each traveler a unique experience of New York. For anyone who is planning to visit the Big Apple, knowing a little fact about each of these boroughs will be quite helpful.

Manhattan (New York County)

Manhattan, the commercial district of New York, is usually what comes into peoples’ minds when they think of New York. Manhattan is well-known for its skyscrapers that shape its distinctive skyline and the Broadway theater district. This frequently visited island of New York is located between the Hudson and East Rivers. Popular sites to visit in Manhattan are Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden, Time Square, and the Central Park, New York’s large urban public park. Visitors should not miss some of Manhattan’s its famous buildings like the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, the Flatiron Building and the United Nations Building.

Staten Island (Richmond County)

Of the five boroughs of New York City, Staten Island is the most suburban and is also one of the most beautiful. Main attractions in Staten Island are the free ferry ride that offers a view of the Statue of Liberty and the Staten Island Zoo.

Brooklyn (Kings County)

This is the most populated of all the boroughs with 2.5 million populations. Brooklyn has very few tourist attractions but offers a socially diverse ethnicity. Brooklyn is home to many cultural communities; there are the Russian, Hispanic-American, African-American communities, Chinese-American, Italian-American and many others. Perhaps when going to Brooklyn, the recommended attractions to see is the Brooklyn Museum.

Queens (Queens County)

Queens is the larges of the five boroughs in terms of land area and is next to Brooklyn as most populous. The history of Queens dates back in 1683 as one of the first 12 countries of New York. It is home to the famous professional baseball team New York Mets and the United States Open Tennis Center. The second largest Chinatown is also found in Queens.

The Bronx (Bronx County)

The Bronx has not been a media favorite, unlike Manhattan for being known as a place of high crime and unsafe neighborhoods. However, there had been gradual improvements especially in the South Bronx which is considered the most dangerous neighborhoods in the county. In spite of its notoriety, the Bronx has attracted many visitors mainly because of attractions like the Bronx Zoo and the new Yankee Stadium.

Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Staten Island and The Bronx, the five boroughs of New York City, all have unique offerings of what life is like in the Big Apple.

© 2020 Travel to New York : All about New York in USA | Created by: | Sitemap | Privacy Policy